If You Build It, They Don’t Necessarily Come: The Heaven and Hell of Marketing a Book

For all you writers, aspiring writers, and published authors out there, this is a must read article from an author who’s been in the business for a while. Read the whole article – it’s worth the long read – take notes then just keep writing!

The Amazon Iowan

Warning: this post is long and all about publishing. Possibly boring, do not feel bad if you skip or bail.

I have this thing I do where I troll online booksellers, the NYT list, the USA Today list, and every goddamn list there is out there to follow. I watch Bookscan (nearly useless for me since it’s print books and the majority of my sales are electronic and they don’t go there). Basically I read every tea leaf I can, doing everything in my power to distill the mist surrounding sales in book publishing. I hold the lists against events I do and try to decide if that step up on Amazon was because of that great ink I got, or I wonder why the hell the day I got great ink I fell. I watch the progress of my peers’ books and the people I wish were my…

View original post 4,553 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

